RSS

My Vacation @ Phuket

31 Aug

“I need holidays!!” , my little heart screamed.

PHUKET

Phuket, view from the plane

free tours information brochures

TRANSPORT

The day we reached Phuket airport, it was already 3.15pm. As I walked out the airport, there are alot of local Thais approached us, offering car rental services from tuk-tuk, taxi, van or even renting a car or motorbike.

tuk-tuk

We didn’t really worry about transportation in Phuket island. You can probably see “cars-for-rent” signs all over the places. Prices ranging from 600 bath to 1200 bath. We rented a lousy car that costed us 750 bath a day. The next day, we rented a motorbike for just 200 bath a day.

very lousy car

The petrol stations @ Phuket are different from what we have in our country..

ACCOMODATION

We took a whole Free & Easy package thru AirAsia that provided us accomodation @ Best Western Phuket Ocean Hotel, inclusive breakfast for 2. Clean, facing seaview, friendly staffs, good services. And btw, breakfast was delicious.

best western phuket ocean hotel

the swimming pool at hotel

outside the room, seaview

foc shower gels etc

the restaurant

chef preparing breakfast

KARON BEACH

The hotel we rented was located at Karon beach. A very prestint place for relaxation, although I was a bit freak out to see the big waves.

tourists can relax on the chairs provided along the beach

the history keep hunting my mind

i love this pic

do-not-disturb

posing

PATONG BEACH

Located less than 20km from Karon beach, is the famous Patong beach.

So many activities to choose from… Thai or even oil massage at only 300 bath. Remember to bargain. I did so, and managed to get the massage at 250 baht per pax. If you’re lucky, you might get a massage at just 200 baht. For gals, remember to wear bikini if you wanna go for massage, cos they require you to take off your cloths.

Thai / Oil massage

manicure & pedicure

PEOPLE

Through out my 4 days in Phuket, I met most foreigners than local Thais.

There were times I felt as if I was in western country than I was in Thai.

SHOPPING

We went to JungCeylon, a shopping centre located at the heart of Patong town. Like other shopping centres we can find, it offers shops that sell cloths, shoes etc. Not forgetting fast food shops, cafe and pubs.

JungCeylon

Me & My dear @ JungCeylon

water fountain

absolute ceylon pub

I love this part. I was walking in JungCeylon and I saw a facial treatment promotion. 359 bath including facial treatment and 45 mins massage. So worth! That made up two times massage in a day!

spa

If you don’t like modern shopping mall, you can walk around town and will find alot shops selling cloths at cheaper price.

Patong Top

from Dior to LV

THE FOODS & DRINKS

Beers are cheap in Phuket, selling from 20 bath onwards.

We couldn’t resist trying out seafood @ Phuket.

fresh seafood

prawns larger than the size of a palm

fresh oyster

that’s me waiting for foods to be served

oyster about the size of my cam

tomyam with mussels

crabs in yellow curry

squid in lemon sauce

thai style fish

prawns with onions

our meal @ 1200 bath!

We even tried out some local delicacies.

thai seafood fried rice

pineapple fried rice

forgot the name but I love this the most

THE WEATHER

Unlucky. Raining season. I was forced to wear rain-coat….

looked so silly in that 30 bath raincoat

ENTERTAINMENT

Influenced by movies, I wanted to go for some muay thai boxing or at least a THAI GIRL (not TIGER) show.

muay thai boxing @ 1200 baht

It was very happening at nite @ Patong town. We found pubs ( more than 50) along the road.

A lady approached us with a paper on her hand, saying “cheap cheap show”. I looked at the paper, it was a list of shows to pick from. Thai Girl Show, Lesbian Show, Sexy Show, Tiger Show, Crawling Show, Slicking Show, Cat Show and other weird names. 300 bath, worth trying. So we followed her into a pub. As I entered the pub, I couldn’t even open my eyes. Too smoky. As soon as my vision got better, the only thing I saw was….. 12 girls wearing bikini dancing on stage, each of them holding poles. My 1st reaction was…. ran out.

If you ask me, yes… I regret I didn’t stay for that show.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on August 31, 2007 in Current Affairs, Events, Foods & Places

 

9 responses to “My Vacation @ Phuket

  1. Joelle

    August 31, 2007 at 5:42 pm

    I was expecting white sandy beach…

     
  2. themamakcorner

    September 1, 2007 at 3:39 am

    raining all day…no luck

     
  3. Bing

    September 1, 2007 at 2:31 pm

    u left after paying for the show? haha….wat a waste…….the food looks delicious…..

     
  4. themamakcorner

    September 2, 2007 at 1:07 am

    i didnt. They offered me 1 min free show.

     
  5. Joelle

    September 4, 2007 at 2:13 am

    hehe.. 1 min free show? like, nothing exciting could happen in just one minute . :p

     
  6. themamakcorner

    September 4, 2007 at 11:21 am

    nuP, the 1 min free show is some sort like…preview. If you like it, you pay for the show. If you dont, you can just leave…. hheeee

     
  7. Tse Min

    September 6, 2007 at 11:14 pm

    holiday!!! i want i want!!! looks like you have had a good rest! i’m happy for you. 🙂

     
  8. Keith

    June 15, 2008 at 9:30 pm

    Phuket is wonderful place for a holiday. People often ask me when is the best time to visit and I always tell them anytime.

     
  9. ATs

    December 10, 2011 at 8:47 am

    Wow look at those lobsters & oyster, very huge!

     

Leave a Reply

 
