RSS

syndicate your site with RSS

22 Dec

My sis got a new K800i days ago and she asked me what RSS is all about. Unable to answer her question, I searched for Google and did some study online..

WHAT IS RSS?

RSS or Rich Site Summary, what ever name u call it, is a great way for any website to advertise their contents in an always up-to-date fashion.

 RSS is a method of distributing links to content in your site. In other words, it “syndicates” your contents. It allows people to easily add links to your contents within their own web pages. Bloggers are a huge core audience that especially does this. Famous sites like CNN.com, have already started using this technology.

By using aggregators, I don’t have to scroll to my favourite blogs every morning. All I have to do is subscribe the site using my aggregator and it’ll list out tittle and descriptions of latest updates.

The down side is, if the site is not RSS enable, then I couldn’t subscribe it.

EXAMPLES

Every morning, I open a few browsers to read some of my favourite blogs. Unfortunately, not all blogs are updated and it’ll be a waste of time for me to scroll for every blogs, looking for updated news.

So, what I do is I use aggregator. I save url of my favourite blogs and I’ll be able to look for update blogs. It saves alot of time!

HOW TO START CREATE RSS FOR UR SITE?

Bloggers should syndicate their blogs with RSS. By doing so, readers can subscribe and will know when there are updated posts. It’s also a way to advertise, thus, bringing more and more readers to your blog.

I’m so glad that by using WordPress.com blog site, it enables easy creation of RSS. So, i tried some hands-on using another site of mine @ http://members.lycos.co.uk/siewpeng83/

Lets not talk grandmother stories on history or how RSS came to live and start of with some steps of creating an RSS. 

(1) Create a RSS file. You don’t need a XML editor to create it. Just open a new notepad and enter your items. You’ll need three bits of information:

  • Title
  • Description
  • Link

<?xml version=”1.0″ ?>
<rss version=”0.91″>

<channel>

<title>Siew Peng’s page</title>
<description>Welcome</description>
<link>http://members.lycos.co.uk/siewpeng83/</link&gt;

<item>
<title>About Me</title>
<description>Personal details</description>
<link>http://members.lycos.co.uk/siewpeng83/</link&gt;
</item>

<item>
<title>My Education</title>
<description>Schools</description>
<link>http://members.lycos.co.uk/siewpeng83/</link&gt;
</item>

</channel>

</rss> 

*link has to be your exact url 

There are some other extra optional tags like <language>  , <lastBuildDate> , <copyright>.. but are not essential in creating a simple RSS file.

(2) Save the file. For me, I saved it as “feed.xml”. Then,upload to your site using FTP etc. I put my created RSS file in rss folder.  http://members.lycos.co.uk/siewpeng83/feed.xml

(4) Test the page. Example, I type  http://members.lycos.co.uk/siewpeng83/feed.xml

 and I got this…

(3) Do not assume that your page is already been  feeded. Validate your created rss using some of the feed validator. One good site example would be http://feedvalidator.org/ Type your homepage url at the text box, hit search and it’ll return valid if your site has been feeded.

(4) There you go. You have successfull created a RSS file for your site. What you need to do next is to let others know about it. So, add a orangy RSS icon  at your page so that they can subscribe your site. You can also advertise your site at content aggregators. You can find list of aggregators @ http://www.newsonfeeds.com/faq/aggregators

(5) I subscribe to my own site, and then uploaded a new html page to my site. I tested my personal aggregator (http://www.bloglines.com/)

and I got this… DONE

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 22, 2006 in Tech

 

4 responses to “syndicate your site with RSS

  1. Tse Min

    December 22, 2006 at 4:37 am

    technology…>!!! so confusing…

     
  2. notty guy

    December 22, 2006 at 7:53 am

    To Be More ConfuSE …

    [FROM FRIENDSTER HELP]

    What is RSS?

    Answer
    RSS stands for Really Simple Syndication. This technology allows your blog entries to be displayed in various places on the web. Using RSS, Friendster now allows you to link your blog to your Friendster profile to share with your friends and people in your network. Most of the blog sites offer RSS feeds. An example is provided below. If you use a different blog service please visit their help section and search for RSS.

    Setting up your RSS Feed

    LiveJournal.com
    Visit your journal on LiveJournal
    The URL should read: http://www.livejournal.com/users/username
    Copy that URL, then add “/data/rss” to the end of the URL.

    Example: http://www.livejournal.com/users/username/data/rss
    Go to Friendster and click Edit Profile.
    Copy the updated URL into the RSS field at the bottom of Edit Profile and click SAVE.
    New updates from your blog will now be displayed on your profile.

    Try and C lor ….

     
  3. themamakcorner

    December 22, 2006 at 8:34 am

    Thanx for the new way for friendster RSS

     
  4. journalku

    May 30, 2008 at 11:05 am

    Question.. will the siew ping rss that created above return the latest news from the url site provided?

     

Leave a Reply

 
